iShnoob

WWDC ’08 Predictions

with 2 comments

Instead of picking the top 3 rumours that I think will turn out to be true, I’ll just go over the major ones and say what I think.

 

Tablet – Unlikely
Yes, I do think that Apple will release a tablet computer, however I don’t think that this year’s WWDC will be the place and time that Apple decides to trot it out. Daniel Eran Dilger of Roughly Drafted points out that introducing a new Tablet so early would splinter Apple’s mobile touch division. I agree. I think Apple will want to stick with just OS X iPhone for a little while, allowing developers to get more familiar with making multitouch software for these types of mobile devices. Maybe next year?

 

3G iPhone – What do you fucking think?
Yeah. It will have 3G in it. Yay.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m looking forward to the new iPhone, especially since it will be the one to get released in Canada. But I’ve heard so many rumours and speculative thought that I’m getting tired of it. I’m more excited by the OS X iPhone 2.0 software than I am about the device itself.

 

Mobile Me – Pretty sure of it
.Mac sucks. Yes, it has great integration with Mac OS X, but it’s unreliable, provides an uninspiring feature-set and is overpriced. Unfortunately, all this rumour really gives credence to is that Apple’s going to rename it to Mobile Me and add in some iPhone/iPod touch integration. We could speculate that this name change will include a much-needed revamp of the service, but I’m not getting my hopes up.

 

Mac OS X 10.6 “Snow Leopard” – Logical and likely
Drop PPC. Optimize for Intel. Clean up the OS. No major new features. This sounds like something Apple’s been wanting to do ever since they finished Tiger for Intel. And it’s right in line with what Steve Jobs publicly stated 12-18 month release cycle for future Mac OS X updates.

Written by Kumaran Vijayan

June 8, 2008 at 11:27 pm

Posted in Apple, WWDC

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with your post completely. It seems way too soon for a tablet. I see one in the future, but not now. I’ll be very surprised if they release one.

    I’m ready for the iPhone. I’ll see what Mobile Me is like. Not a fan of .Mac or the new name if that’s what they name it. Needs a lot for me to think about paying the $99.

    I’m excited to see what Snow Leopard brings. But its too soon to drop PPC. The only update my G5 has seen is Leopard! I agree they should drop it eventually, but not this one.

    Johnathon

    June 8, 2008 at 11:53 pm

  2. I agree with you that it’s too soon to drop PPC. I’m thinking it was a hard decision on Apple’s part. But maybe we won’t know if it was really worth it until 10.7.

    higaara

    June 9, 2008 at 12:05 am


Leave a Reply

