iShnoob

AppTrap 1.1

with 2 comments

I am continuing the development of AppTrap, an open source uninstaller for Mac OS X. It runs in the background, so that when an application is put in the trash, AppTrap knows and asks the user if they also want to throw away the associated preference files.

AppTrap is simple from an implementation standpoint, which is important for me, considering that this is my first real application (a finished product that is meant for public release).

The code is available here. I’d be grateful for any tips*. It’s not that I don’t have any confidence, but that I’m in unexplored territory here. Oh, and the kqueue  stuff? Right over my head. I’ll have to learn how to work with them as time goes on.

Anyway, this is all new to me. I’m sure I’ll make mistakes, but I’ll try my best to keep them from happening. And when they do happen, I’ll try my best to keep the users unaffected.

I’ll be starting class soon, so that will put a damper on development, but I’m committed to making AppTrap the best uninstaller for Mac OS X. Even though an uninstaller really isn’t all that necessary. 🙂

*Specifically, help on how to make a 64 bit prefpane would be awesome. I’ve been running into my usual set of bizarre problems in that area.

Written by Kumaran Vijayan

August 21, 2009 at 2:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am very happy to hear about the continuation of AppTrap. I love it and was saddened when I read the other guy was no longer updating it.

    Sean

    August 27, 2009 at 3:09 pm

  2. Hi there, i come from Vietnam and i like AppTrap as well, but I have a tiny problem, when I use it with Mac Os 10.6, it works well, but when i choose the older version for my PowerBook (Mac Os 10.4.11), I can’t start it. Pls give me some advices to wake it up :). Many thanks!

    kytero

    March 20, 2011 at 9:02 am


Leave a Reply

